Mantra Monday: Om Shanti

One of my most beloved singers and mantrists is Sheila Chandra. Chandra’s gentle, yet powerful vocals and voice manipulations are almost instrumental in essence, and her use of repetition is mesmerizing. The album that I feel most epitomizes her mantra-esque qualities is ABoneCroneDrone, but my favorite song for clearing my mind and finding a sense of inner peace is Chandra’s song “Shanti, Shanti, Shanti” from her album Roots and Wings. Enjoy her song below (and put on repeat for a full trance-like, bliss-out, Zen-like effect).


So, what does “shanti” mean?  After all, if we are going to chant it, it’s best we know what were are saying/singing.

I love this definition from wildmind.org:

Shanti (Śānti)

Shanti (Pali: Santi) simply means “peace.” It’s a beautiful meaning and also a very beautiful sound. The shanti is repeated three times, as are many chants in Buddhism. In Buddhism as well as in Hinduism the threefold Shanti is generally interpreted as meaning the Threefold Peace in body, speech, and mind (i.e. peace in the entirety of one’s being).

I leave you tonight with a message of that threefold peace: shanti, shanti, shanti (peace in body, speech and mind). Namaste, sweet dreams, and a peaceful heart to you.

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

