29 Gifts in 29 Days

I just joined the 29-Day Giving Challenge!

I stumbled upon this amazing project when I joined the Arts and Healing Network the other day. Apparently, a kind and creative soul by the name of Cami Walker started this project after giving a gift a day for 29 days and seeing transformation in the lives of others and in herself. Through her process of giving, she noticed her MS symptoms diminished and she experienced more health and abundance in her own life. Read here for more about her story.

I have decided to join this movement in order to help balance the giving and receiving in my own life. By reflecting on my own life as a person in a “giving” profession–and by witnessing my clients try to balance the giving and receiving aspects of their own lives–I’ve come to the realization that we need to nurture both our giving (or yang) and receiving (or yin) sides. Both aspects must be attended to (and listened to) in order to achieve good balance and health.

In your own life, do you find that you give in a way that makes you feel exhausted? Do you ever find yourself having a hard time receiving? Joining this project has made me much more aware of my relationship to giving in general. Are there times when I resent giving (and why)? When do I resist accepting someone’s generosity (and why)? How do I care for myself when I give a great deal without listening to my own body’s message to take a break? How do I feel when I give without expecting anything in return? When has giving given me great joy?

Here’s a bit more information about the 29 Gifts project (excerpted from their website):

“29Gifts.org is a global giving movement with more than 3, 600 members in 38 countries. Our collective mission at 29Gifts is to revive the giving spirit in the world. We change lives—and change the world—one gift at a time.

HOW IT WORKS:
Sign up and then give away 29 gifts in 29 days. Your 29 gifts can be anything given to anyone… money, food, old sweaters, smiles, your time, kind words or thoughts. You can start your own personal 29-Day Giving Challenge at any time—there’s no official begin or end date. To complete the challenge, submit a story, post a piece of your original artwork, create a short film or write a song. Tell us about your favorite gives and the impact it made on your life to focus on giving.”

I just created my own page on the 29 Gifts website. You can check it out here. I will be starting my 29 days of gifting today and documenting my process on my page.

Want to join me? To sign up, just visit: http://givingchallenge.ning.com/main/authorization/signUp

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 29 Gifts in 29 Days

  1. Juliet says:

    Fun! Too bad we don’t have coin op’d parking meters anymore… I’ll join you.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    What a beautiful experiment. I was just talking with a dear friend about the balance of giving and receiving. We decided on Friday to try and consciously work our receiving muscles. All of a sudden, I found myself purposely giving more and more, whether it was money, or feathers, or books. Now, I know that I actually started the experiment a few days ago. Thank you for this information. What a gift it is.

  3. Juliet & Elizabeth~I’m so glad that you’re up for this 29-day challenge! E, it’s amazing how giving energy can just rise up. How lovely that you had this intention even before reading my blog!J, ah yes, wouldn’t parking meters be nice? You could be the NQL (Neighborhood Quarter Lady)! It seems a little awkward to run up to a pay-to-park machine as someone is getting their sticker!Feel free to write more about your journey here, or you can create your own page on the 29Gifts.org website.Courtney

Leave a Reply

