Discovering the Full-Body Ah-Ha!

Inner Knowing, mixed media collage, 8″ x 10″

According to Shakti Gawain (in her book Developing Intuition), ‘The surest and most reliable way to know whether you are following your intuition is that whenever you do so, you feel more alive!”

I have absolutely found this to be so. When I am in tune with my body and trust in what I feel (you know, those nice “gut feelings” that kick in), I feel more vibrant, alert, and clear. Sometimes I even experience a full-body “ah-ha!” It’s like being in pure alignment or flowing along with the current instead of against it.

Gawain continues:

“When you are listening to you intuitive feelings and acting on them, you keep your channel open so the life force can keep flowing. You literally have more energy moving through you. When you don’t pay attention to your intuition, or go against it, you may find that you feel a certain heaviness, lack of energy, a kind of deadness. This is because the life force is trying to come through and move you in a certain way, and it is being blocked.”

I can think of several times in my life when I went against the flow or current of my inner wisdom–when my body said “no, this isn’t right,” but I did something anyway. Or when my whole being lit up with “yes, do this!” and yet out of fear I stifled this feeling and was left with lethargy and disappointment.

My belief is that trusting yourself and your inner wisdom comes directly from body awareness. I think we must bypass the mind in order to feel the sensations in our being and to listen to the messages our body conveys to us. The mind is so powerful that it can override any body system (that’s why we can experience panic when there is actually no real threat to our safety).

So try dropping into your body as you are learning to trust yourself. I believe your body does have the answers. What you feel from the inside can guide you in ways you never thought possible. What is that rumbling in your belly about? Or that twinge in your low back? Sink into it, enter it with your senses and find out.

(In my next post, I will explore this inner searching more specifically as I report on the amazing Focusing for Bodyworkers WorkshopI attended last week with Jack Blackburn. Stay tuned.)

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Discovering the Full-Body Ah-Ha!

  1. lovely — and what a great reminder! descend from mind to body and FEEL being there — what a treat! And yet how odd that it should be a “treat” for me when, come on, Kara, the bod is here every minute! Hmmm, yeah… staying present with what we feel. Lots of goooood being in body to you today, Courtney!
    miracles,
    k-

  2. Ah yes, Kara, staying present! So simple, so difficult sometimes!

    hugs,
    Courtney

Leave a Reply

