Transitions with Soft Hearts

Embrace the Softness, encaustic on mat board, 8″ x 10″

I wasn’t feel very good today. I’m fighting a little cold and some anxiety was surfacing, too. I took it easy today, including sleeping in until 10:00am! I took one outing in the afternoon and that was to my local used book store to see what book might call to me. Within minutes of being in the store, I located Transitions, Julia Cameron’s book of wisdom about dealing with life transitions. I could use this, I thought to myself, imagining the coming of fall and how each year this transition startles me a bit, but I also thought, we could all use this.

So here is an excerpt from the beginning of her book:

“All change can be expansive potential. The choice is ours. As I open my heart to accept change, my heart softens and grows larger. Every experience carries the seed of transformation. Every even can bring blossoming and wealth. My personal will can resist change or embrace it. The choice is mine and determines the life I will have. Today I choose to embrace change. I open my heart to its hidden but abundant blessings.”

–Julia Cameron, Transitions

I love how she describes her heart softening and expanding when accepting change. The image of a soft heart soothed me today. A soft heart is malleable, able to change with ease and grace.

May we all embrace the changes that fall before us — or the changes we actively choose — and may we feel ourselves becoming soft and expansive as we fly like the bird in my art piece above. May we feel light and open to the sky of possibilities.

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Transitions with Soft Hearts

  1. Carol Wiebe says:

    The books I need also find me~always have. It’s a wonderful way to live, isn’t it?

    I am all for a soft and expanding heart. It certainly describes yours, Courtney. I’ll meet you up there in that sky of possibilities.

  2. Thank you, Carol. Yes, I’ll meet you in that sky of possibilities. May we all find possibilities flying toward us like serene birds!

    Courtney

Leave a Reply

