Renewing Light


We are just about month away from the Winter Solstice, the shortest day of the year. This year, the Winter Solstice will occur at exactly 5:47 pm Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) on December 21, 2009.

As we move through these soggy November days into the new days of December, I find myself lighting candles consistently and mindfully. Creating candlelight glow has become second nature in my daily routine, I suppose, because I find candles comforting. I love the flicker, the soft yellow illumination, the scents, the wavering flame. There is something very primal about candlelight, too, as if something very old awakens in my body, some dormant seed that’s been hiding in the dark of these long evenings. I also feel a sense of potential in the light that is to come once we pass the solstice mark. There is something in me ready to glow, regenerate, renew.

I created the art piece above to honor the power and comfort of the candles that flicker my evenings along, making striking shadows on the walls. These companions light my way most evenings and remind me that I am also a flame, burning with creativity, emotion, and strength.

How do you use light during these dark months of fall? Do you surround yourself with candlelight like I do or perhaps light a fire or hang strings of lights? Or do you find yourself comforted by the darkness?

And what in you is ready for some renewal? What is ready to burn its way into being and show itself in the light?

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

