What’s Hiding Under Your Bed?

Saving the Sun, mixed media painting on foam core, 4′ x 5′
My partner and I bought a new bed frame this weekend (impetus: so I can store my mini trampoline under it!) and discovered this old art piece sandwiched between the box spring and mattress when we disassembled the bed. When I found this piece, I had that feeling you get when you find money in an old birthday card, or when you find that one sock that has been missing its pair.

I created this painting in 2007 in honor of the one-year anniversary of my business. The little superhero bird with the “W” on his chest is my partner Walter, who has always been my biggest fan and support during the ups and downs of my being a one-woman show.  I am the bird in the heart of the sun, trying to reach for success with my beak.  I’m not yet sure who the haloed hawk represents, but I do feel like it is a protective presence.

So for the past three years I have been sleeping on this art piece, which I now call Saving the Sun, perhaps absorbing its radiance, its hint of possibility for success and abundance and joy.

So here’s my task for you today: check under the bed, between your mattress and box spring, behind your headboard.  What do you find?  There has got to be something that’s living under the bed or something you stowed away for safekeeping (or secrecy, perhaps?).  Now write about whatever you find there.  Go for 10 minutes.  Write fast.  What is the history of this thing and why is it where you found it? If you found nothing, think of someone you know – or even a character in a movie – who stows something under or near the bed. Don’t analyze too much. Get out your pen and paper or keyboard and write!

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s Hiding Under Your Bed?

  1. Juliet says:

    What a wonderful find!

  2. Izzy says:

    Wish I could find such beautiful artwork hiding under my bed… =)

  3. Izzy says:

    Oh, and it looks like you got some spam hanging out under your blog bed, uh?

Leave a Reply

