What Is May Be Good Enough (For Now)

My friend Tatyana Mishel emails me (and her many other fond followers) fantastic wisdom every week in the form of her Everyday Creative Salon. This Salon arrived last week and was titled, “BEWARE Over-Seeking.”

Her post seemed to have arrived at the perfect time for me as I was musing over the nature of my growing business, my teaching, my art, my writing, and my general “Creative Healer”-ness that sometimes makes my head spin.

This is her email:

Overheard on the job the other day: I still am wondering what I’m going to do when I grow up,” said the middle age tech-company manager. His colleague responded with,  “Oh god, I’d LOVE to be you!

And so it goes. Some people are perhaps more naturally inclined with being content with what and where they are right now.

Others of us might fall in the camp of PERPETUALLY wondering: Where am I going, where is this taking me, over-considering goals and paths, maybe even anticipating being jobless and having plan B and and and …

Does that sound fun? Personally, I find it exhausting. AND I do it All. The. Time.

I’m not talking about killing your goals, or stepping back from greater visions of being. Fondle and play with those visions, keep the inner conversation alive!

Instead, Try This on For Size:

What if your main job is doing what you’re doing right now to the best of your ability, bringing as much of your full joyous self to the plate in front of you, with as much passion as possible (define that as you may and YES, even if your job is a life sucker, because you can always change how you define it)?

What if , especially during uncertain times, doing your best in the moment is the most important work you can do, to move you forward into your greater goals? What if???

Everyday Creative
http://everydaycreative.net
tatyana@everydaycreative.net
Got the low-mojo blues? Get re-engaged. Find out what really matters to you.
Be your genius self, love your work, have more fun.

What a lovely message of living in the present moment with what is!  And as Tatyana writes, don’t let go of your dreams, but don’t constantly live in the constant “what if” mode of wanting change all the time. Perhaps your living room is just fine as it is for now without any re-arranging or maybe your writing project, which is getting you a bit stuck at the moment, needs some more sweet-talking from you instead of your dropping it for a much more sexy writing idea.  Maybe just this very moment, things are a-okay for the time being. Maybe you change your mind in two minutes and need to re-arrange the living room or decide to become a natural vet instead of a writer. But at least you paused and felt that inner satisfaction of contentment with your present condition, however flawed it may feel. And maybe things aren’t as bad or boring or unclear as they at first seemed. What if?

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Is May Be Good Enough (For Now)

  1. this is brilliant. 4 months into a new job, 5.5 months into being pregnant, 2 months into living in a new house I keep wondering ‘what if this, what if that,’ (what will happen on maternity leave, after maternity leave, do i stay doing this job, who will take care of my kid? how am I going to do this all? how are we going to pay the bills or pump or take care of this sweet little baby boy of ours?)

    but the reality is…in this very moment…i am exactly where i want and need to be. and it feels good to take that step back and realize it…because forecasting into the future of what ifs is seriously exhausting.

    but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to think about my goals, ya know? 🙂

    thanks for sharing this!!!

  2. Sara says:

    Great post, and wonderful blog! I just found your blog today, and have been really enjoying catching up on your posts! Looking forward to many more 🙂

Leave a Reply

