To Turn Again

Turn Again, mixed media art journal by Courtney Putnam

During times of change, such as the changing of the seasons — particularly the transition from Summer to Fall — I think about all of the returning that happens.  Schools have “homecomings,” stores have “back-to-school” sales, and the leaves are turning color and returning to the earth.  My friend Ruth believes October is the true New Year, my friend Robyn calls Fall “second spring” and my partner Walter begins his new yearly budget in October.

There is something about October that brings about a return, a way in which we turn again, turn inward perhaps, and hopefully return to ourselves.

What would you like to return to this autumn?  What are you revisiting, re-visioning, recounting, and returning to?  In what ways are you beginning again this Fall?  If you imagine Fall as a new year, what do you want in it?

Amidst the chaos of life right now, I am spending a few moments each day returning to myself. I remember to breath, stretch, feel my feet on the solid earth. It takes just a few minutes to find my center again when I refocus my attention to coming home to myself.

Sometimes I even do the tree pose to feel myself connected to the ever-changing earth.

What do you do to return to yourself during times of change, transition, and renewal?

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in art, healing, personal growth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Turn Again

  1. For a while now, I’ve had a gut feeling that a big change is on the way. As autumn approaches that feeling is getting stronger. My curiosity is piqued and I hope fate will show itself soon. 🙂

  2. I’ve heard several people describe a similar feeling. Perhaps something is about to hatch for many of us…

Leave a Reply

