30 Cures for What Ails You

I have started my process of creating 30 (yes, 30!) encaustic art pieces for the 30-Day Art Challenge.  My deadline is November 7 and between now and then I get to create 24 more art pieces. Ah, my heart is starting feel more free and open again!

All entries will be offered for sale at the Exhibition Sale Event, taking place at the T.K. Artist Lofts in Pioneer Square for the Dec. 1st Seattle Art Walk, so mark your calendars!

At first I had no idea if I would have a theme for my 30-piece collection, but I knew the creative process itself would be the path.  As soon as I dipped my brush in yellow encaustic wax and swiped my first stroke across the required 8″ x 10″ canvas, I knew I wasn’t going to be creating my usual birds and Buddhas pieces. I wanted to work with color, texture, abstraction, emotions, and ultimately healing.

Here are my first six pieces, my first six cures for what ails you. Click on any image to see it in a larger size.

Cure for Nature Deprivation

Cure for Insomnia

Cure for a Hole in Your Heart

Cure for Eggs that Won't Hatch

Cure for Lack of Sunlight

Cure for Exhaustion

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Cures for What Ails You

  1. Walaka says:

    Wow – what a departure. A wonderful, beautiful, compelling departure. Can’t wait for the rest!

  2. Juliet says:

    I was thinking of you and this project! What a wonderful vision you have going! Ditto W, I can’t wait to see the rest!

  3. Sue Simpson says:

    Beautiful. Love these pieces Courtney. Sounds like a great challenge. Looking forward to seeing more.

Leave a Reply

