The Most Beautiful Thing

What is the most beautiful thing?

On Fiona Robyn’s blog Writing Our Way Home, she asks that bloggers write a post about our “most beautiful thing” in celebration of her new novel of the same name. I am a bit behind with my post, but thought I would blog about this anyway.

There are so many beautiful things, but today, these are the things that catch my eye:

My Buddha with blooming orchid is in full view from my bed. When I feel the haunting nighttime worries entering my body, I look to my little altar of peace and beauty and feel calmer. I also feel “at home” at this altar, as though I am part of it somehow.

Our cat Selkie is indeed beautiful on the outside. His gray fur an milk-dipped toes and chin make him so huggable. Selkie, though, is also such a beauty on the inside. He knows when to rest his body on my stomach and chest to calm me. He knows how to lean in to head-butt my forehead in complete surrender.  If only humans would head-butt each other regularly like cats do.  I think the world would be a better place. We would be vulnerable with one another and fully acknowledge one another. Thank you, Selkie, for this gift.

What is “the most beautiful thing” today for you?

 

 

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in Animals, inspiration, personal growth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Most Beautiful Thing

  1. Courtney,

    I’m so happy you decided to write about your most beautiful thing (s). The Buddha with orchids and sweet Selkie images will stay with me.

    I also appreciate your previous reflections about disappointment and love that ritual idea. Thanks for offering so many gifts to those around you.

  2. Pingback: Hit Out « The Curse Of The Single Parent

Leave a Reply

