Embodying Ease

“When the heart is at ease, the body is healthy.” ~Chinese proverb

“Try to be like a turtle — at ease in your own shell.” ~Bill Copeland

This week I am experimenting with visualizing what I want to feel in my life.  I have been asking myself the same questions I ask my clients: “Courtney, what are you wanting for yourself that is important to you right now? What are you wanting to feel?”  This is meant to be a broadening, not a honing question. Think wide-angle lens on a camera or a panoramic view from a mountain top.  Big. Broad. Basic. A noun (not a verb).

After asking myself this question, the first word that came to me was EASE. I said it aloud, like it was a word I had just learned: “Ease, easy, ease.”  I tried it on. My heart unclenched itself, my gut softened. I sighed (always a good sign). I felt my eyes water — an inner knowing.  Yes, ease. I want more ease in my life.

My next step?  To find an image of ease that could represent to me what I am wanting and to draw me to ease (or ease to me). In one of my collage boxes I found the image of the woman in the mixed media collage below. Absolute embodiment of ease for me. I cried when I saw her contentment, her ease-ful posture, her authenticity, her openness. No worries or strain. Yes, this is ease.

My final step? To create an art piece with this woman’s image. Here it is for you now:

Embodying Ease, mixed media collage by Courtney Putnam.

Now what are YOU wanting for yourself that is important to you in your life right now?  Think BIG, expansive. Don’t worry about the details of what this big, broad word means exactly if you applied it in your life. That will come soon. Find that word, find an image that represents the concept for you, and create some art. Through this art-making you will learn something more about yourself. You will start to touch what you want to feel. You may even surprise yourself with what you are wanting. Allow yourself to want, to feel, and to be present with all that opens for you in the process.

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embodying Ease

  1. jillsalahub says:

    Healing. However, I linger on your image too, want ease as well, but I think it might come with the healing.

  2. polly says:

    i love the bill copeland quote and am curious about the source. i’d love to hear more of his thoughts. can you enlighten, please? btw, i do love your blog and have been an avid follwer for years. i find much beauty and wisdom here.

Leave a Reply

