Poetry Friday: Scavengers

Hello lovely pumpkin-eaters,

I have decided to blog every day this November (it’s kind of like NanoWriMO, but more like Blog-o-Rama).  I am inspired by my friend Jill over at A Thousand Shades of Gray who blogs several times a week and has a theme for each day of the week that she blogs. I am going to try my own version this month and see how it goes.

As you can see by the title of this post, Friday posts will be poetic in nature. I’m ready to jump into this Blog-o-rama. Will you join me? 1, 2, 3…splash!


I like to revisit a poem I wrote in graduate school every fall because the images still ring true for me every autumn in the Pacific Northwest.

Autumnal Acceptance, encaustic by Courtney Putnam.

SCAVENGERS

It is another dark morning, the sky,
a mouthful of saliva spitting. I spy a crow
flipping a drenched hamburger wrapper
to reveal its silver-lined underbelly.
I watch his black body against the glint of foil,
notice how he picks at it with his beak.

He cannot leave it behind, scavengers
as crows are, pawn shop owners of the bird world, collectors of coins, keys, scraps of glass and foil — shiny objects made of light.

I hoard mirrors, sun lamps, shiny stones,
gold-threaded scarves and colored glass
that reverberates light. These things are not enough.
If I could capture light — the kind that warms
my bones — I would rub it into my skin. I would lace
each eye with it. I would place it in my beak
and crush it till it bursts.

Courtney Putnam, c. 2002. Published in Licton Springs Review in 2005.

What are important or iconic images for you in the autumn months? And even more importantly, how do these images make you feel?  See if you can journal for a bit, really stepping into the emotional impact of autumn. What comes up for you?

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poetry Friday: Scavengers

  1. Great post and wonderful poem Courtney! Hmmm…. everyday? What about twice a week on blogging? Sue SimpsonLife and Business Coach Creativity Workshop InstructorArtistWebsite BlogKeep up with what’s new! Click Here  

Leave a Reply

