Mantra Monday: Root Chakra Chant

The root (or first) chakra of the body is located from your pelvis to your toes and has to do with life’s essentials — money, material goods, food, shelter, security, safety, groundedness, etc. — and it’s our energetic foundation. When we don’t feel grounded in our root chakra we may feel like we are floating through our life, confused, spacey, unsettled, or disconnected to the earth at our feet.

I bring you a mantra (it’s a series of chants, really) to help ground us in our root chakra. The video below is from Jonathan Goldman’s album Chakra Chants.  After a day of painting my old art studio in preparation for relinquishing it, I feel I need some of this deep, grounding energy. After all, much of my day was spent on a ladder looking up. I don’t know if I can truly feel the ground right now. I think sitting with my feet flat on the floor and listening to Goldman’s “Primal Ground (Root)” is helping even as I type this.

See if you feel more grounded, too, and feel free to add your own words or sounds to the chants. I feel inclined to repeat “I am okay” with the drone of the chants. What mantra might you add?

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in healing, inspiration, life lessons, personal growth, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

