Buddhas, Stones, and Labyrinths

“People usually consider walking on water or in thin air a miracle. But I think the real miracle is not to walk either on water or in thin air, but to walk on earth. Every day we are engaged in a miracle which we don’t even recognize: a blue sky, white clouds, green leaves, the black, curious eyes of a child — our own two eyes. All is a miracle.”

―Thich Nhat Hanh

IMG_20130615_124845

On a weather-moody Saturday on Maui, my mother and I drove north to Pai’a and Makawao to soak in some north shore surfer-hippie culture and so I could share The Sacred Garden of Maliko with my mom. I had visited this sanctuary in February this year and felt the spiritual pull to return — to experience the peace, solitude, quiet, beauty, and calm of the place.

And of course, for me, the Buddha statues, stones, and labyrinths are of particular heart-full interest to me. I feel like I come home to myself when surrounded by the soft, gentle faces of Buddhas, the groundedness of stones, the winding paths of labyrinths that have been carefully drawn into the earth.

I could have stayed all day, really. Just my journal and me. A spot of tea. And indeed the sanctuary folks encourage it. But on this day, we were just little wisps of wind passing through, needing to tour and then find lunch and then be on our way again. One day, Sacred Garden of Maliko, I *will* spend an entire day finding my place of peace amidst your stone and gravel paths, fountains, statues, stones, and botanical wonders.

For now, though, I just have more photographs, which I will share with you, sprinkled with some of my favorite mindfulness quotations from some of my favorite teachers.

What are you most drawn to in these images and quotations? Where do you find yourself breathing more fully, smiling, tearing up in resonance, or feeling a sense of inner peace? I’d love for you to share in the comments below.

Namaste,

SignatureFirstName

IMG_20130615_161340“We don’t realize that, somewhere within us all, there does exist a supreme self who is eternally at peace.” ― Elizabeth Gilbert

IMG_20130615_162142“Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the little voice at the end of the day that says I’ll try again tomorrow.”  Mary Anne Radmacher

IMG_20130615_161417“Have patience with everything that remains unsolved in your heart.
…live in the question.” ― Rainer Maria Rilke

IMG_20130615_161527“I do not understand the mystery of grace — only that it meets us where we are and does not leave us where it found us.” ― Anne Lamott

20130615_110249“Breathing in, I calm body and mind. Breathing out, I smile. Dwelling in the present moment I know this is the only moment.” ―Thich Nhat Hanh

20130615_110029“Wouldn’t take nothing for my journey now.” ― Maya Angelou

IMG_20130615_162046 “Write what disturbs you, what you fear, what you have not been willing to speak about. Be willing to be split open.” ― Natalie Goldberg

IMG_20130615_164612“When we know what we most fear, we know what we most care about.” ― Patti Digh

20130615_110847“If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.” ― Dalai Lama XIV

20130615_110615“Don’t be satisfied with stories, how things have gone with others. Unfold your own myth.”  Rumi

20130615_110459“It is not length of life, but depth of life.” ― Ralph Waldo Emerson

IMG_20130615_162511“The more light you allow within you, the brighter the world you live in will be.  ―Shakti Gawain

IMG_20130615_161827“You are the sky. Everything else – it’s just the weather.” ―Pema Chodron

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in healing, inspiration, life events, life lessons, personal growth, photography, spirituality, wisdom, Zen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buddhas, Stones, and Labyrinths

  1. Frances Ku says:

    Courtney, when are you leaving? Wish we could get together! Would you have any time?

    • Oh! My Soul Sister Frances! I so so wish we could have met up while we were on Maui. We are back in Seattle now, alas. I will be returning again…and again…and again…and we *will* make time to see each other.

Leave a Reply

