All Good Things

Happy Autumn, everyone!

Cold and cozy, first day of autumn 2013.

Cold and cozy, first day of autumn 2013.

If you know me or have followed my art and writing over the years, you may know that this transition from Summer to Fall is a hard one for me. Hard. Every year. I’ve lived in the PNW all of my life and still…my body starts aching for summer the moment the gray skies and rain arrive in Seattle.

But.

Every year, I am conscious of and attentive to my feelings, my process, my yearnings, and ultimately my acceptance. I learn to love aspects of autumn. I get cozy. I pull out my sweaters and boots and get somewhat comfortable.

So here is my tribute to autumn in visual form. Indeed, a good thing.

WelcomeEquinox

Another GOOD THING:

If you don’t know about my friend Jill Salahub’s blog A Thousand Shades of Gray, you most certainly should! In addition to her regular heart-centered, self-love searching, inspiring, artful posts, she’s been interviewing women on the subject of self-compassion and posting their responses every Saturday for “Self-Compassion Saturday.” These interviews are going to become a free e-book that Jill is going to share with the world. Isn’t she amazing?

I was honored to be interviewed for the August 24 “Self-Compassion Saturday” and I’d love to share with you our post:

Screen shot 2013-09-23 at 9.22.53 AM

A third GOOD THING:

I ran a 5K race for lymphoma to support my friend Phil who is going through the thick of treatments for non-Hodgkins lymphoma. I only partially trained (due to a boob strain incident!), but I ran the whole race, and even finished less than a minute behind my husband (who, by the way, won a medal!).

5KRaceCollageThere is something about community, a dear friend doing his healing work, a collection of strangers cheering, and a multitude of hearts on a mission to support a cause that can make a person like me keep running. I felt good. I was tired and achy at the end, but I was elated — a love-induced adrenalin run for sure.

What good things are happening in your world? What is going right — right now?  What has felt remotely good, positive, inspiring?  It’s a heart-rush to write them down, to document them, share them even. For Jill’s latest “SOMETHING GOOD” post, she’s found tons of articles, videos, quotations, and pictures sure to ignite some flowering good feelings inside you.

What can do you right this minute that would feel good? Choose something that will take less than a minute if you need to. I am going to jump up and down to Ylvis’ The Fox song:

peace and glowing falling leaves,

SignatureFirstName

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in art, creativity, event, healing, inspiration, life events, life lessons, personal growth, photography, spirituality, wisdom, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All Good Things

  1. jillsalahub says:

    Thanks for all the love, Courtney!

Leave a Reply

