Question #1

November 1st has arrived and I am ready to answer a question!

(To learn more about my adapted NaNoWriMo project, click here, and do consider asking me a question!)

QUESTION: What is your favorite color right now and what does that say about you?

Right now, I am drawn to colors in the RED family. Maroon, burgundy, magenta, crimson, brick, clay, cardinal, and scarlet.

I’ve always been fond of red, but right now I seem to be drawn to it, compelled to wear it, paint with it, and surround myself with it in my environment. My latest paintings, for example, are saturated with reds:

20131029_163813

20131029_164206For me, red is about passion, creativity, fiery energy, and life force energy. I am going through an artistic flourishing right now and certainly feel the passion for the creative process. I am also inspired by nature — the way the leaves are turning fiery red this autumn. I love the whole spectrum of yellows to oranges to reds, but the reds call to me as if they are saying, “I know it’s cool outside, but our color will keep you warm.”

Red is cozy, warm, womb-like.

Red is bold and brazen.

Red is a risk-taker.

From a chakra perspective, red is the color of the root chakra, which is all about sustenance, groundedness, and having your material needs met. I am certainly in a stage of my life right now where getting my foundation secure is of great importance. The root chakra’s element is earth, not fire, interestingly. My favorite place in the world is Maui, Hawaii and the red volcanic earth is rich and gritty. I love walking barefoot on the island’s red dirt and dyeing my feet in tropical clay.

In all, red ignites me, inspires me, and fuels my passion for creativity. Too much red, though, can be over-stimulating for me, so I take “red breaks” for solace.

Now I ask YOU the same question I was asked: what is YOUR favorite color right now and what does it say about YOU?

with crimson crow calls,

SignatureFirstName

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in art, Chakras, creativity, event, healing, inspiration, life events, life lessons, personal growth, spirituality, wisdom, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

