Question #3

As part of CoAnQuMo (Courtney Answers Questions Month), I give you Question #3:

What archetype do you most identify with right now?

Good question! My first answer is several, but I’d like to pick one since that is your question. I scanned through my Caroline Myss Archetype Cards and chose about 10 that resonated, but the one that rose to the surface was SEEKER.

What I love about archetypes is that they are multi-dimensional and we can put our own spin on them, too. Archetypes, like most things in life, have a “light” side an a “shadow” side. I resonate with both the shadow and light of the SEEKER card right now.

IMG_20131103_185929

Here is the message of the light: “Thirst for wisdom and truth wherever they are.”

My summer was certainly about this, as I took a sabbatical from bodywork sessions to “figure stuff out.” Then this fall, I have been taking action, trying different ways of being in the world and in my business. I made some big changes, like choosing to let go of massage-giving in my practice right now.

I’m trying and failing and I’m trying and succeeding. I see hope. I feel despair. I take a path, then spin around and return. But I keep looking for the horizon to keep me steady and upright. I am seeking truth and wisdom for sure, though. In every experience, trial, experiment, and new venture, I am seeking the learning in it, the wisdom. I am conscious to ask myself, “how do you feel now?” when I walk down an experimental path. I take stock of how my body responds. I notice what comes up for me. That is the path of the seeker being in tune with her process.

The shadow attribute to the SEEKER is this: “Inability to commit to a path once found.”

Since I still have several paths on my journey, I feel like it is a challenge to commit to one — to make one thing really happen. As an artist, writer, healer, teacher/mentor, and solo-preneur, there are many paths I am trying all at once. My struggle to commit to one path fully is my challenge. (And I know I don’t need to solely do only one thing, but some extra energy and focus on one venture would help right now!)

And my path is rather lonely being a one-woman show, so I have to seek out friends, mentors, and other kind souls who will listen and show compassion. I have also, more than ever, had to learn to trust my intuition in my Seekdom. Even about practical things like money. Even when I don’t want to look at money. Even when I’d rather clean the shower tile grout than look at my bank statements or update my Excel spreadsheets.

The path of the Seeker can be a little risky sometimes. This path can also push us to confront uncomfortable territory, even if, ultimately it is to our benefit. Will a certain path lead us into a tangle of brambles or will we delight in a view of the ocean? Will we gain enlightenment by falling down in the dirt or climbing to the top of a mountain?

I give thanks to all the paths in front of me and send an intention to myself (and to others on this Seeker path) that we find ourselves safe and calm on our discovery roads.

on the road again,

SignatureFirstName

 

 

p.s. Here are the other nine archetypes I chose tonight: Eternal Child, Artist, Hermit, Samaritan, Victim, Poet, Healer, Servant, Magical Child.

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in inspiration, life events, life lessons, personal growth, wisdom, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

