Question #5

Oh how I wish I had a picture to show you to help answer this next question in my CoAnQuMo project!

What is the first piece of art you remember making?

BalletJump

Little Me.

It’s hard to recall what is true memory and what is a story melded into memory. I do remember loving to color in coloring books. My father and I used to color together in my dinosaur and Sesame Street coloring books.

I have a particular memory of coloring The Count green, even though he’s really purple.

In terms of original creations, my first art project that I recall initiating myself was both a poem and an art piece.

I created a rainbow with pen markers on a piece of white cardboard. I think there were clouds containing each end like little rainbow cauliflower ears.  And then I remember drawing hearts all over the place. My poem was in the center and I wrote it first on lined paper and then transferred it to my cardboard art piece in red marker.

And I do remember my poem by heart:

Love

Love is such a powerful thing,
it does not bite, it does not sting.

All the love comes from the heart,
try loving once, it will give you a start.

Remember just one little thing,
caring once will make hearts ring.

It’s curious how this little Hallmark-esque ditty has been stored in my brain all of these years. Part of me cringes a bit (or a lot), but my higher self (the one without the poetry degree) notices how this poem truly represented what I was all about as a kid. I embodied love, acceptance, and compassion. I guess I still am this way.

Perhaps I should create my almost-38-year-old self version of this “Love” art piece and poem and see what emerges. What do you think?

with rainbows lovingly smeared with childhood sticky fingers,

SignatureFirstName

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in art, life events, life lessons, personal growth, poetry, wisdom, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Question #5

  1. monk-monk says:

    Courtney I love this, especially the inclusion of the little Courtney picture, it really helps capture the moment!

    -Jenna

Leave a Reply

