Question #15

This Friday’s CoAnQuMo is in response to this burning question:

What is something that most people wouldn’t know about you?

Goodness, what a challenging question!  I feel like I “put myself out there” in this world and I’m pretty open about my life.  What might you not know about me?

Okay, here’s my answer: I am a total goofball. I’m funny, wacky, crazy. I do a lot of physical comedy. I make people laugh. I make myself laugh. I wake up from dreams laughing about pink sweatpants. I do cartwheels and hand stands in public. I ham it up for the camera. I watch “b” movies just to laugh at how bad they are. Conversations about bodily functions make me crack up (just ask my husband). I embarrass myself a lot.

GoofyFacesI suppose I am choosing to share this side of myself because my professional persona is often quite serious. I show a great deal of control and composure. People often describe me as grounding and calming and healing. These things are true. But I can also make you pee your pants.

In college my dorm mates used to dress me up in a bathrobe, ski boots, and a bike helmet (placed on my head backwards, of course). I held a rattle in one hand and walked around the dorm yelling, “Where is my bike?! Give me back my bike!” I was sober. No really, I was. My freshman year I lived in a substance-free dorm.

I have many stories like this in the goofball regions of my memory. I’ve played many tricks on people, especially as a kid. Once my cousin Rich and I tampered with beverages (always add hot sauce and 7-Up!), greased doorknobs and toilet seats, tied our parents’ bedroom doorknobs together so they had to play tug-or-war to get out of their respective rooms, and more.

When we were kids my friend Molly and I used to play “Psychiatrist” and once I was a patient who wore a dried placenta around my neck as a necklace. Molly had to try to help me “let it go.”

I’ve made faux relaxation tapes with my friend Kristen (she and I still crack up over the self-pelvic exam guided meditation), conspired with my brothers to play tricks on our parents and grandparents too many times to count (the apple butter trick was the best, thanks to my brother Chris), and I convinced several people that there are no Safeways in Bellingham because a monkey got loose in that grocery store and destroyed it in 1995.

I’m just giving you some of the highlights here. I was fortunate to live in a family that loved to laugh and where creativity was encouraged. We also had no real rules. Yeah, that helped for creative mischief to blossom on many occasions, especially because we weren’t spending time cleaning our rooms (no rules, remember?).

Once my brother Robb tried to enact the phrase “you’re driving me up the wall,” by running up the rec room wall. His foot busted through the wall, and of course we told our parents right away we covered the hole with a poster.  See, I had good role models for creative mayhem.

I hope this will be surprising to some of you. I like to be a little shocking. 🙂

What aspect of YOURSELF don’t you share as often as other aspects? What would you like to share more of with others?

Tell me in the comments section below cuz I wanna know!

with belly laughter,

SignatureFirstName

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in creativity, life events, life lessons, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Question #15

  1. jillsalahub says:

    Sorry, but this did not surprise me one bit. xo

Leave a Reply

