Question #17

Today’s CoAnQuMo is certainly inspired by the film The Sixth Sense:

Do you see dead people?

I’m going to break down this question into smaller and more specific pieces:

Do I see dead people like ghostly apparitions in front of me? No.

Do I sense them and feel them and see them in my mind’s eye? Yes.

Do I consider myself a psychic medium? No.

Have other people considered me psychic? Yes.

Do I consider myself intuitive? Yes.

Do I receive signs and message from the beyond? Yes, I think so, though I will never truly know.

Messenger Hawk, mixed media encaustic by Courtney Putnam.

Messenger Hawk, mixed media encaustic by Courtney Putnam.

When did I first realize that I  could connect with spirits or outside energies? When I was a child. I’ve always been extremely sensitive and often felt the presence of outside energies.

Now how do I interact with these outside energies and entities? I have dreams. Sometimes these dreams are strongly symbolic, almost prophetic. In my waking life, I feel the presence of my grandparents and father often. When I give intuitive energy sessions, I sense my clients’ guides and their important people who have passed.

How do I do this? I just listen, focus, and receive.

Do I know what I am perceiving is for sure true? No. It feels true, but I can’t prove it.

Do I get confirmation from clients that what I am sensing makes sense? Yes. Most often.

Do certain spirits visit my healing room? Yes. A Native American man and a little girl visit quite often.

Do certain clients bring spirits with them (or draw them) to your sessions? Yes.

What are my spirit guides? After seeing a shaman and doing a soul retrieval, I learned that I was born with an owl at my side, who still protects me. I also have a jaguar for protection because I am like a porous sponge energetically (so empathic) and his spots are meant to cover my “energy-leak holes.” I think all of this is totally cool, even if on a solely symbolic and psychological level.

Shaman's Hand, mixed media encaustic by Courtney Putnam.

Shaman’s Hand, mixed media encaustic by Courtney Putnam.

Do I consider myself woo-woo? Yes and no. That’s another question for CoAnQuMo. I will answer that question more fully another time.

Now my question for YOU is this: do you consider yourself psychic or intuitive and, if so, how does this show up in your own life?

with jaguar spots and whispering owl feathers,

SignatureFirstName

 

 

 

 

 

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in art, healing, inspiration, life events, life lessons, personal growth, spirituality, wisdom, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Question #17

  1. monk-monk says:

    Psychic? I dunno. Intuitive? Yes. I’ve had dreams that have come true. Many deja vu experiences. I knew that I was pregnant the moment it happened, and knew he was a boy from the beginning. I’ve predicted other people’s baby due dates, and ‘guessed’ their child’s genders (9 out of 11 right, which is pretty good odds). I have intuited when ‘bad things’ are going to happen to myself or others.

    But my intuitive times seem to come and go. Sometimes I’m more ‘tapped in’ to whatever woo woo helps me intuitively. And sometimes I go long periods without anything seemingly intuitive or psychic happening. But maybe I’m too sleep deprived to notice 😉

    • Thank you for sharing your experiences with intuition, Jenna! I resonate with that feeling of certain times in my life I am more tapped into my intuition than others. And then other times, I get side-swiped with something full of synchronicity that I never would have expected!

Leave a Reply

