Question #21

Question #21: Which element do you most resonate with and why?

My gut response is WATER. I love the flow of water. I love how water can be both peaceful and powerful. I love lakes, rivers, and especially oceans. I am fascinated by tides. I grew up playing in the Hawaiian waters of the Pacific and learned at a very young age how to manage the strong pull of the ocean, the undertows, the different personalities of waves. I learned how to enter and exit the ocean without getting pounded by a wave.

I am intimately familiar with tears. With the flow of emotion easily tapped. I know of loss and the healing power of tears.  I know the kind of tears that flow with passion and empathy. I know the tears of anger. I know the tears of connection.

I love flowing water. I have two fountains outside my home to bless each entrance. If I could afford it, I’d have fountains all over my house, inside and out. The sound of moving water reminds me that I am not stagnant. Water reminds me that change is okay. I will survive it. I may even blossom because of it.

Whenever I take online “What Element Are You?” quizes, I get results like this one from Beliefnet:

Screen shot 2013-11-21 at 5.42.15 PMNot surprisingly, my result is water. But check out how close EARTH is to my score. Yes, I feel earth energy in me, too — grounded, earth mother energy, of comfort to others.

Strangely, astrologically I am a FIRE sign, a Sagittarius. My Ayurverdia dosha is mostly Pitta, fiery, too.  I think my creative impulses come from my fire side. Perhaps some of my passionate convictions, too.

It’s interesting though, how on the elemental wheel, fire and water do not coexist so well. It makes me wonder how often my water extinguishes my fire, when perhaps I need to let my fire blaze on.

Aescan_Element_Wheel_by_mr_authorWhat element do YOU resonate with the most and how does that element relate (or not) to your astrological sign, your dosha, or any element quiz you might take? How does your most resonant element show up in your own life?

with fire-water blessings,

SignatureFirstName

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in grief and loss, healing, inspiration, life events, life lessons, personal growth, spirituality, wisdom, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

