Question #24

Question #24 for CoAnQuMo is a fascinating one, indeed!

Here it is:

What is your favorite word and why?

I think I’m going to have to modify the question to be, “what is ONE of your favorite words and why?” because I have so many beloved words on my list!

Today I am quite fond of the word endometrium. I was scanning my poetry manuscript today noticing my word choice and came upon my poem “Fire”:

FIRE

The day you were fired
because you were pregnant with me
I felt a tightening inside you,
so I clung to the back wall of your uterus —
the end of the cul-de-sac facing the road out to the cervix.
I scraped the endometrium, rolled a small ball
of the thick blood lining
and sent it down to you
as if to say
take this fire and fight them.

c. Courtney Putnam, 2003

I love the sound of the word, endometrium. This five-syllable word starts off soft with the “n,” “d,” and “m” sounds then then catches me with that strong “t.” The word has an atrium in it, like it is mimicking the shape of the uterus. It then ends with that soft “m,” a cradle, a womb, a soft space to lay your head.

If you aren’t familiar with the endometrium, here’s your little anatomy lesson:

The innermost layer of tissue in the uterus is the mucous membrane, or endometrium. It lines the uterine cavity as far as the isthmus of the uterus, where it becomes continuous with the lining of the cervical canal. The endometrium contains numerous uterine glands that open into the uterine cavity and are embedded in the cellular framework or stroma of the endometrium.

And look at how beautiful it is! “E” points to that hot pink area that is the endometrium.

endometrium[image credit: http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/186990/endometrium]

In terms of its etymology, endometrium comes from the medical Latin, from endo- (within)+ Greek metra (uterus) related to meter (mother). 1882.

So there you have it, folks! You now know one of my favorite words!

Now I want to know what YOUR favorite words are? What words make you full of glee? What words do you enjoy speaking just because of the sound of them?

with an phosphorescent* endometrial glow,

SignatureFirstName

*another one of my favorite words!

About Courtney Putnam

I first came to healing work through art and writing. Creating collage art and poetry in particular allowed me to deeply understand the benefit of self-expression in the healing process. But, I also began to see the benefit of bodywork (manual work in the form of massage and energywork in the form of Reiki) as keys to unlocking the emotional stresses we hold in our bodies. I became a Reiki practitioner in 2002, received an MFA in Creative Writing in 2003, received my massage license in the spring of 2006, and became a Reiki Master in 2010. In my practice I bring together these three areas -- the body, the mind, and the spirit (or energy body) -- so others may experience profound and positive change in their lives.
This entry was posted in body image, inspiration, personal growth, poetry, spirituality, wisdom, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Question #24

  1. Rebecca Lane says:

    Ah, how interesting! Today I stumbled upon the color photos of my endometriod adenicarcinoma, taken during the biopsy procedure. It is pretty weird to see it! I developed endometrial cancer from having endometrial hyperplasia — too much endometrial tissue. Lots of speculation about causes… Including exposure to bisphenol A, the endocrine disrupting substance that is in the lining of most cans containing commercially canned food. So, that sweet nest designed to cuddle a growing fertilized ovum can also become dangerous if it is out of balance.

    • Rebecca,
      I thought of you so much as I was writing this post. Thank you for sharing your journey (you are so articulate and graceful, as always) and for shedding some light on endometrial cancer. Lots of love to you! xo, Courtney

  2. monk-monk says:

    I’d say my favorite word is Aristotelian, but that’s only because my favorite English teacher in HS told me that I’d sound smart if I used it in academic settings. Based on how I actually talk, people probably think my favorite word is Fuck, because I have a potty mouth big time (I blame working with “at risk youth,” but that’s not entirely fair).

Leave a Reply

